Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

50/70cc Moped aged 16?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

olster
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 22:16 - 12 Nov 2015    Post subject: 50/70cc Moped aged 16? Reply with quote

So im 15 atm and when i turn 16 in a couple of months im looking to ride a 50/70cc moped.

Ive ridden a motocross bike for 8 years so i have some knowledge about bikes.

I understand that a moped for a 16 year old must be restricted to 31mph and under 50cc.

Ive seen and know plenty of people who are 16 with mopeds that definitely do more than 31mph and some people i know have mopeds that have 70cc engines that are stamped 49cc.

My question is: what would happen if the police caught you doing over 31mph on both a 50 and 70
and: can police tell if you have a 70cc moped if you are doing under 31mph

I understand that my questions are probably a bit confusing however i want this question of mine to be cleared up

Thanks alot

p.s. Im very new to this website so i dont know if im posting in the correct place :/

dydey90
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 22:34 - 12 Nov 2015    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, they can't tell what engine size it is and probably wouldn't even have a close enough look to see if it's stamped at 70cc.

However, there are two risks.
-it's not unheard of for the police to turn up at a 6th form or a college with a rolling road in a van and dish out tickets for anything that's going over 50kmph.
-if you crash it, the insurance investigator will look at the engine. If you've completely replaced it, that's an undeclared modification and therefore void insurance, which will be very expensive.

So basically, yes you can, but you shouldn't and you'd be better off just putting up with it and moving up to a 125 after a year.

cb1rocket
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 22:46 - 12 Nov 2015    Post subject: Reply with quote